Microcontroller in the automotive sector

 

What is a microcontroller (MCU)?

A microcontroller is a microcomputer that, in addition to its processor, combines various other important components and peripheral elements on one chip, i.e. a one-chip system, but not to be confused with a system-on-a-chip. They are usually selected adapted to their respective special applications and should ideally fulfill their tasks with as few external components as possible and can be manufactured in large numbers. They often carry out control and communication tasks of all kinds.

 

 

 

Where are microcontrollers used in the automotive sector?

Microcontrollers have become an indispensable part of our everyday lives, regardless of whether refrigerators, vacuum cleaners, televisions, power supply units or any other everyday object that contains even a little electronics are considered, microcontrollers are usually to be found. You have become indispensable in the automotive sector as well. Since microcontrollers primarily take on control and communication tasks, there are a large number of applications in automobiles that are possible with microcontrollers and can be implemented simply and cost-effectively. In modern vehicles today, small 8 or 16-bit microcontrollers (MCUs) are used in numerous applications - from position sensors to controlling windshield wipers. Since the variety of applications for microcontrollers is very large, microcontroller families are manufactured application-specifically for the automotive sector.

 

 

Microcontroller_Automotive_Anwendungen

 

 

 

 

Current and future requirements of microcontrollers in the automotive sector

Probably the most essential requirement of automotive microcontroller families is clearly the technical security to be brought with them, which clearly differs from consumer device or communication applications. In addition, integrated flash and RAM memories with their security mechanisms ensure robustness over the entire life cycle. Domain and zone control devices integrate logical software functions that were previously implemented in distributed systems. The development complexity is thus shifted from the vehicle network with many individual control devices to the hardware / software architecture of central domain / zone control devices. In addition to scalable computing power up to 15 kDMIPS, this requires flexibility for the integration of functions of various ASIL (Automotive Safety Integrity Level) according to ISO26262. System availability becomes a real technical challenge. Gigabit Ethernet will make it possible to exchange large amounts of data between domain computers. Classic network technologies such as CAN, Flexray and LIN will continue to be used for communication with sensors and actuators. Crypto security will also play a central role. Secure software updates in later vehicle operation, the detection of manipulations of the network and the protection of private data require high-performance security functions in all ECU classes.

Aurix_Tricore_Chip

 

Infineon Tricore microcontroller

One of the most widely used automotive microcontroller families is the TriCore device family. On average, there is at least one microcontroller from the TriCore family in every second. TriCore-based microcontrollers work in the central control units for combustion engines and transmissions, where they control the injection, ignition and exhaust gas recirculation. They are also increasingly being used for hybrid and electric vehicle drives. Other areas of application are electric steering, braking and driver assistance systems and chassis control.

 

 

 

 

 

Solution for prototyping and small batch production of TriCore microcontrollers

PEmicro's CYCLONE Flash programmers are powerful tools for in-circuit programming, debugging and testing of microcontrollers (MCU), either in standalone mode or controlled from a PC. The PE Micro programmers are reliable, easy to configure and extremely easy to use.

 

CycloneFX_Tricore

 

 

The programmers Cyclone LC Universal and Cyclone FX Universal from PEmicro provide support for the AUDO ™ TC1xx and AURIX ™ TC2xx and TC3xx TriCore devices from Infineon, which are ideally suited for optimized motor control applications and signal processing tasks. This makes them a preferred choice for many automotive and industrial applications. TriCore devices are programmed via port A of a Cyclone LC Universal or Cyclone FX Universal programming device.

Microcontroller im Automobilbereich

 

Was ist ein Microcontroller (MCU)?

Ein Mikrocontroller ist ein Mikrorechner, der neben seinem Prozessor diverse andere wichtige Komponenten und Peripherie-elemente auf einem Chip vereint, also ein Ein-Chip-System, jedoch nicht zu verwechseln mit einem System-on-a-chip. Sie werden meist für ihre jeweiligen speziellen Anwendungsfälle angepasst ausgewählt und sollen im Optimalfall ihre Aufgaben mit möglichst wenig notwendigen externen Bausteinen erfüllen und können in großen Stückzahlen hergestellt werden. Oft vollführen sie Steuerungs- und Kommunikationsaufgaben verschiedenster Art.

 

 

 

Wo werden Microcontroller im Automotive Bereich eingesetzt?

In unserem Alltag sind Microcontroller heutzutage nicht mehr wegzudenken, egal ob Kühlschränke, Staubsauger, Fernseher, Netzgeräte oder jeder andere beliebige Alltagsgegenstände in dem auch nur ein wenig Elektronik stecken, betrachtet werden, sind in der Regel Microcontroller anzutreffen. So sind Sie ebenso im Automotive Bereich nicht mehr wegzudenken. Da Microcontroller vor allem Steuerung und Kommunikationsaufgaben übernehmen, gibt es eine Vielzahl von Anwendungen in Automobilien, die mit Microcontroller möglich werden und einfach sowie kosteneffizient umgesetzt werden können. In modernen Fahrzeugen kommen heute kleine 8- oder 16-Bit-Mikrocontroller (MCUs) in zahlreichen Anwendungen zum Einsatz – von Positionssensoren bis hin zur Steuerung der Scheibenwischer. Da die Anwendungsvielfalt von Microcontroller sehr groß ist, werden Microcontrollerfamilien anwendungsspezifisch für den Automotive Bereich gefertigt. 

 

 

Microcontroller_Automotive_Anwendungen

 

 

 

 

Heutige und zukünftige Anforderungen von Microcontroller im Automobil Bereich

Die wohl essentiellste Anforderung von Automobil-Mikrocontroller-Familien klar ist die mitzubringende technische Sicherheit, die sich klar von Konsumgeräte- oder Kommunikationsanwendungen unterscheidet. Zusätzlich sorgen integrierte Flash- und RAM-Speicher mit ihren Sicherheitsmechanismen für Robustheit über den gesamten Lebenszyklus. Domänen- und Zonen-Steuergeräte integrieren logische Softwarefunktionen, die früher in verteilten Systemen realisiert wurden. Die Entwicklungskomplexität verlagert sich damit aus dem Fahrzeugnetzwerk mit vielen Einzelsteuergeräten in die Hardware- /Softwarearchitektur zen¬traler Domänen-/Zonensteuergeräte. Neben skalierbarer Rechenleistung bis hin zu 15 kDMIPS erfordern diese Flexibilität zur Integration von Funktionen verschiedener ASIL (Automotive Safety Integrity Level) nach ISO26262. Systemverfügbarkeit wird so zu einer echten technischen Herausforderung. Gigabit-Ethernet wird es erlauben, große Datenmengen zwischen Domänenrechnern auszutauschen. Für die Kommu¬nikation mit Sensorik und Aktoren werden weiterhin klassische Netzwerktechniken wie CAN, Flexray und LIN genutzt werden. Crypto-Sicherheit wird zudem eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Sichere Softwareupdates im späteren Fahrzeugbetrieb, das Erkennen von Manipula¬tionen des Netzwerks und der Schutz privater Daten erfordern leistungsfä¬hige Sicherheitsfunktionen in allen Steuergeräteklassen. 

Aurix_Tricore_Chip

 

Infineon Tricore Microcontroller

Einer der meist verwendeten Automotive Microcontroller Familien ist die TriCore Gerätefamilie. Im Schnitt steckt in jedem zweiten mindestens ein Microcontroller von der TriCore Familie. TriCore-basierte Mikrocontroller arbeiten in den zentralen Steuergeräten für Verbrennungsmotoren und Getriebe, wo sie die Einspritzung, Zündung oder Abgasrückführung steuern. Zunehmend werden sie auch für Hybrid- und Elektro-fahrzeugantriebe genutzt. Weitere Anwendungsgebiete sind die elektrische Lenkung, Brems- und Fahrerassistenzsysteme und die Fahrwerkssteuerung.

 

 

 

 

 

Lösung für das Prototyping und der Kleinserienfertigung von TriCore Microcontrollern

Die CYCLONE Flash-Programmierer von PEmicro sind leistungsstarke Werkzeuge zum In-Circuit-Programmieren, Debuggen und Testen von Mikrocontroller (MCU), entweder im Standalone-Modus oder von einem PC aus gesteuert. Die PE Micro Programmierer sind zuverlässig, einfach zu konfigurieren und extrem einfach zu bedienen. 

 

CycloneFX_Tricore

 

 

Die Programmierer Cyclone LC Universal und Cyclone FX Universal von PEmicro bieten Unterstützung für die AUDO ™ TC1xx- und AURIX ™ TC2xx- und TC3xx TriCore-Geräte von Infineon, die sich ideal für optimierte Motorsteuerungsanwendungen und Signalverarbeitungsaufgaben eignen. Dies macht sie zu einer bevorzugten Wahl für viele Automobil- und Industrieanwendungen. TriCore-Geräte werden über Port A eines Cyclone LC Universal- oder Cyclone FX Universal-Programmiergeräts programmiert.