Storage technologies in the automotive sector

 

Storage in the automotive sector

Electronic memories are required in every electronic system. The automotive sector is no exception. Whether RAM for volatile data storage, flashes for program codes of a microcontroller or mass storage devices such as UFS, they are all needed to provide today's features and functions in a modern car.

 

 

 

 

Special features of data storage systems in the automotive sector

In order to address customers from the industrial electronics or automotive sectors, semiconductor manufacturers have to adapt their products to the requirements customary in the respective industry. A striking example of the higher requirements in industry and automotive engineering is the extended temperature range of -40 ° C to +85 ° C or even -40 ° C to +105 ° C. A major challenge for semiconductor manufacturers also arises from the product life cycles that are common in industry and automotive engineering. Industrial electronics and automobiles are produced much longer than e.g. semiconductor ICs for smartphones. Even after production has ended, the systems will continue to be used in industry for many years so that spare parts must be available for maintenance and repair.

 

 

Samsung_Automotive_UFS_ICs

 

Examples of memory ICs in the automotive sector

Samsung, as one of the largest manufacturers of memory technologies, has its own production line especially for the manufacture of memory chips for the automotive sector. The product range is comprehensive: DDR2, DDR3 and LPDDR4 with memory capacities from 512 MB to 24 GB in FBGA (Fine Pitch Ball Grid Array) housing for temperature ranges Grade 2 (-40 ° C to +105 ° C) and Grade 3 (- 40 ° C to +95 ° C) - and flash memory - as eMMC (embedded multimedia card) with storage capacities from 8 GB to 64 GB and as UFS (universal flash storage) with 64 GB and 128 GB, also in an FBGA Housing and in versions corresponding to Grade 2 (–40 ° C to +105 ° C) or Grade 3 (–40 ° C to +85 ° C).

 

 

 

 

Autonomous driving: trigger for the storage revolution

The large number of sensors that are required for autonomous driving generate an impressive amount of data that can be stored and processed very quickly and that quick access must be ensured. In the course of the development from L2 to L5, the data generation rate will increase tenfold, according to Yole's estimate, from 1 GByte per second to 10 GByte per second. For example, each autonomous vehicle could generate an average of up to 4000 GB per day. Since it is not possible to transmit all new data to the network (also due to the requirements for speed and security), massive internal storage is required.


Autonomous vehicles are radically changing the storage requirements in vehicles. A significant increase in the average NAND content in vehicles is expected by 2024, which could exceed 300 GB per vehicle with a CAGR18-24 of around 79 percent. At the same time, the DRAM content per vehicle with a CAGR18-24 of around 42 percent will increase from 3.2 GB per vehicle today to almost 20 GB per vehicle.

 

 

Programming and test tools for automotive memory

Since memories for the automotive sector have to meet special requirements, it is particularly important here to examine designs for reliability with regard to safety aspects.

 

 

 

 

 

prodigy-technovations-UFS-Protocoll-Analyzer

 

UFS protocol analyzer

The UFS Protocol Analyzer PGY-UFS3.0-PA gives development and test engineers comprehensive insights into the communication between the UFS host and device. An MPHY / UniPRO / UFS packet-based triggering enables the acquisition and analysis of specific protocol data.

 

 

 

 

StarProg-U_Produktbild_ml

 

 

Programmer for automotive memory

Dediprog offers universal programmers for automotive memory ICs. The Starprog-U supports EEPROM, SPI-NOR / NAND-FLASH, Parallel-NOR / NAND-Flash, eMMC / eMCP and microcontrollers (MCU) and offers high-speed programming.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IC selection assistant

Check in our IC selection assistant which programmer is the right one for your memory ICs.

Speichertechnolgien im Automobilbereich

 

Speicher im Automobilbereich

Elektronische Speicher werden in jedem elektronischen System benötigt. Der Automobilbereich stellt hier keine Ausnahme dar. Egal ob RAM für flüchtige Datenspeicherung, Flashs für Programmcodes eines Microcontroller oder Massenspeicher wie UFS, sie alle werden benötigt, um in einem modernen Auto die heutigen Eigenschaften und Funktionen bereitzustellen. 

 

 

 

 

Besonderheiten von Datenspeichersystemen im Automotive Sektor

Um Abnehmer aus dem Bereich Industrieelektronik oder Automobil anzusprechen, müssen Halbleiterhersteller ihre Produkte an, die in der jeweiligen Branche üblichen Anforderungen anpassen. Auffälliges Beispiel für die höheren Anforderungen in der Industrie und im Automobilbau ist der erweiterte Temperaturbereich mit –40 °C bis +85 °C oder sogar –40 °C bis +105 °C. Eine große Herausforderung für Halbleiterhersteller ergibt sich ist aber auch aus den in der Industrie und im Automobilbau üblichen Produktlebenszyklen. Industrieelektronik und Automobile werden deutlich länger produziert als z.B. Halbleiter-ICs für Smartphones. Selbst nach Produktionsende werden die Systeme in der Industrie noch über viele Jahre eingesetzt, so dass Ersatzteile für Wartung und Reparatur verfügbar sein müssen.

 

 

Samsung_Automotive_UFS_ICs

 

Beispiele für Speicher-ICs im Automotive Sektor

Samsung als einer der größten Hersteller für Speichertechnologien, besitzt eine eigene Produktionslinie speziell für die Fertigung von Speicher Chips für den Automobilbereich. Das Produktsortiment ist umfassend: DDR2, DDR3 und LPDDR4 mit Speicherkapazitäten von 512 MB bis 24 GB im FBGA-Gehäuse (Fine Pitch Ball Grid Array) für die Temperaturbereiche Grade 2 (–40 °C bis +105 °C) und Grade 3 (–40 °C bis +95 °C) – und Flash-Speicher – als eMMC (embedded Multimedia Card) mit Speicherkapazitäten von 8 GB bis 64 GB und als UFS (Universal Flash Storage) mit 64 GB und 128 GB, ebenfalls in einem FBGA-Gehäuse und in Ausführungen entsprechend Grade 2 (–40 °C bis +105 °C ) oder Grade 3 (–40 °C bis +85 °C).

 

 

 

 

Autonomes Fahren: Auslöser für Speicherrevolution

Die große Anzahl von Sensoren die für das autonome Fahren erforderlich sind, erzeugen eine beeindruckende Datenmenge, die sehr rasch zu speichern und zu verarbeiten ist und auf die ein schneller Zugriff sichergestellt sein muss. Im Zuge der Entwicklung von L2 auf L5 wird sich die Datengenerierungsrate nach Schätzung von Yole von 1 GByte pro Sekunde auf 10 GByte pro Sekunde verzehnfachen. Jedes autonome Fahrzeug könnte beispielsweise durchschnittlich bis zu 4000 GByte pro Tag generieren. Da es nicht möglich ist, alle neuen Daten an das Netzwerk zu übermitteln (auch aufgrund der Anforderungen an Geschwindigkeit und Sicherheit), ist ein massiver interner Speicher erforderlich. 


Autonome Fahrzeuge verändern die Speicheranforderungen in Fahrzeugen radikal. Bis 2024 wird ein deutlicher Anstieg der durchschnittlichen NAND-Inhalte in Fahrzeugen erwartet, die 300 GByte pro Fahrzeug bei einem CAGR18-24 von etwa 79 Prozent überschreiten könnten.  Gleichzeitig steigen perspektivisch die DRAM-Inhalte pro Fahrzeug mit einem CAGR18-24 von etwa 42 Prozent von 3,2 GByte pro Fahrzeug heute auf fast 20 GByte pro Fahrzeug an.

 

 

Programmier- und Testwerkzeuge für Automotive Speicher

Da Speicher für den Automobilbereich spezielle Anforderungen erfüllen müssen, ist es hier besonders wichtig, Designs auf Zuverlässigkeit in Hinblick auf Sicherheitsaspekte zu untersuchen.

 

 

 

 

 

prodigy-technovations-UFS-Protocoll-Analyzer

 

UFS Protokoll Analyzer

Mit den UFS Protocol Analyzer PGY-UFS3.0-PA erhalten Entwicklungs- und Testingenieure umfassende Einblicke in die Kommunikation zwischen den UFS-Host und -Gerät. Ein MPHY / UniPRO / UFS packet-basiertes Triggern ermöglicht dabei die Erfassung und Analyse spezifischer Protokolldaten.

 

 

 

 

StarProg-U_Produktbild_ml

 

 

Programmer für Automotive Speicher

Dediprog bietet universelle Programmer für Automotive Speicher ICs. Das Modell Starprog-U unterstützt EEPROM, SPI-NOR / NAND-FLASH, Parallel-NOR / NAND-Flash, eMMC / eMCP sowie Mikrocontroller (MCU) und bietet eine Hochgeschwindigkeitsprogrammierung.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IC Auswahlassistent

Überprüfen Sie in unserem IC Auswahlassistent welcher Programmer für Ihren Speicher ICs der richtige Ist.