HDMI 2.0 vs HDMI 2.1 - differences & innovations in the HDMI specification

 

The quality of video on our devices has become increasingly important as our use of video for entertainment, gaming, and broadcasting becomes much more embedded in our daily lives. Since many of our devices have video display capabilities, improving the video and audio transmission between them has never been more fundamental.

 

 

 

The evolution of the high definition multimedia interface

HDMI, or High Definition Multimedia Interface, was introduced in 2002 as a medium for transferring high definition video and audio signals over a single cable. Throughout the years,

multiple iterations of HDMI have been released, but just recently, we've been introduced to an all new specification of HDMI that will be widely adopted within the coming years, HMDI 2.1.

Here, we will explore HDMI 2.1 further and see how it compares to its predecessor, HDMI 2.0.

 

 

The innovations of HDMI 2.1 vs HDMI 2.0

 

HDMI2-1cable

 

One of the most important leaps from HDMI 2.0 to HDMI 2.1 is the allocated bandwidth between the two iterations. HDMI 2.0 was first introduced in 2013 and offers a bandwidth of 18 Gbit / s. With HDMI 2.1 we are seeing a huge increase in bandwidth - 2.6 times higher at 48 Gbit / s.

This increase in bandwidth is mainly due to the increased number of channels and the supported bit rate on each channel. The HDMI 2.0 specification, classified as HD or high speed, uses three data channels at 6.0 Gbps each, with an additional channel supporting the TMDS clock signal. Together, the bandwidth on these three channels can reach up to 18 Gbit / s.

The HDMI 2.1 specification, classified as UHD or ultra high speed, doubles the bit rate per channel to 12 Gbit / s and also replaces the 4th TMDS clock channel as an additional data channel. This is possible because the new HDMI specification now uses packet-based data transmission in which its own clock signal is embedded. With four channels that signal 12 Gbit / s, 48 ​​Gbit / s are now possible.

 

 

 

 

 

The dynamics of improved vision

Due to the increased bandwidth, the video quality has improved significantly with the HDMI 2.1 specification. HDMI 2.0 introduced 4K resolution at 60 frames per second, and HDMI 2.1 introduced support for 4K at 120 frames per second, 8K at 60 frames per second, and resolutions up to 10K. The 8K resolution quadruples that of 4K, which now supports 7680 pixels horizontally and 4320 pixels vertically.

Another improvement in the display from HDMI 2.0 to HDMI 2.1 is the new support for Dynamics High Dynamic Range or Dynamic HDR. With Dynamic HDR, the display can change its contrast and brightness frame by frame. Instead of static HDR, which is used in HDMI 2.0 and uses HDR-10 to apply the metadata once to customize the TV's display, Dynamic HDR applies metadata to the exact image, making the shadows and lighter images more prominent.

 

 

HDMI 2.1 cable improves upon all of the technology

In contrast to the HDMI 2.0 cable, HDMI 2.1 has additional functions that improve image and video performance especially for gamers. HDMI 2.1 includes VRR (Variable Refresh Rate), which reduces the picture delay and allows a 3D graphics processor to display the picture at the time of playback for a smoother viewing experience. The new features for fast frame transport and automatic low-latency mode reduce latency and ensure seamless video suitable for fast-paced gaming.

Regarding audio transmissions within HDMI, the Audio Return Channel (ARC) feature was implemented in older HDMI specifications, including HDMI 2.0. Traditionally, ARC sends audio signals upstream and downstream through a single connector so that the cable can send audio from a television back to an AV receiver or other speaker system. Audio quality suffered in previous specs as the bandwidth for audio transmission was minimal. With the Enhanced Audio Return Channel (eARC) implemented in the latest HDMI 2.1, this is no longer a problem as the allocated bandwidth is now 37 Mbit / s. With the newer specification, more audio content can be passed through the cable and for this reason we can expect higher quality audio outputs.

 

Upgrade challenges

With these changes from HDMI 2.0 to HDMI 2.1, the question is whether it will be necessary to purchase all new cables. It turns out that new cables are needed to take advantage of the new features of higher resolutions or frame rates. However, because this specification is relatively new, many TVs have not yet implemented this technology in their devices, so purchasing newer cables may not be essential at this time.

 

 

 

Advanced Cable Tester v2 HDMI 2.1 for design, production & quality assurance

Programming Quad SPI storage devices is a common use case for the Promira ™ Serial Platform

actv2

 

 

 

The Advanced Cable Tester

The Advanced Cable Tester v2 tests HDMI, DisplayPort, Lightning & USB cables for compliance with the specification. The following tests are available to the cable tester. Continuity testing, DC resistance testing, E-marker test, signal integrity, overvoltage protection, quiescent current consumption & more. It enables rapid cable sampling, easy-to-understand reports, and 100% test coverage for laboratory and production environments at a fraction of the price, time, and labor compared to other solutions.

HDMI 2.0 vs HDMI 2.1 - Unterschiede & Neuerungen der HDMI-Spezifikation

 

Die Qualität von Videos auf unseren Geräten hat zunehmend an Bedeutung gewonnen, da unsere Verwendung von Videos für Unterhaltungszwecke, Spiele und Rundfunk viel mehr in unser tägliches Leben eingebettet ist. Da viele unserer Geräte über Videoanzeigefunktionen verfügen, war die Verbesserung der Video- und Audioübertragung zwischen ihnen noch nie so grundlegend.

 

 

 

Die Evolution des High Definition Multimedia Interface

HDMI, or High Definition Multimedia Interface, was introduced in 2002 as a medium for transferring high definition video and audio signals over a single cable. Throughout the years,

multiple iterations of HDMI have been released, but just recently, we’ve been introduced to an all new specification of HDMI that will be widely adopted within the coming years, HMDI 2.1.

Here, we will explore HDMI 2.1 further and see how it compares to its predecessor, HDMI 2.0.

 

 

Die Neuerungen von HDMI 2.1 vs HDMI 2.0

 

HDMI2-1cable

 

Einer der wichtigsten Sprünge von HDMI 2.0 zu HDMI 2.1 ist die zugewiesene Bandbreite zwischen den beiden Iterationen. HDMI 2.0 wurde erstmals 2013 eingeführt und bietet eine Bandbreite von 18 Gbit / s. Mit HDMI 2.1 sehen wir einen enormen Anstieg der Bandbreite - 2,6-mal höher bei 48 Gbit / s.

Diese Erhöhung der Bandbreite ist hauptsächlich auf die erhöhte Anzahl von Kanälen und die unterstützte Bitrate auf jedem Kanal zurückzuführen. Die HDMI 2.0-Spezifikation, klassifiziert als HD oder Hochgeschwindigkeit, verwendet drei Datenkanäle mit jeweils 6,0 Gbit / s, wobei ein zusätzlicher Kanal das TMDS-Taktsignal unterstützt. Zusammen kann die Bandbreite auf diesen drei Kanälen bis zu 18 Gbit / s erreichen.

Die HDMI 2.1-Spezifikation, klassifiziert als UHD oder Ultrahochgeschwindigkeit, verdoppelt die Bitrate pro Kanal auf 12 Gbit / s und ersetzt auch den 4. TMDS-Taktkanal als zusätzlichen Datenkanal. Dies ist möglich, weil die neue HDMI-Spezifikation jetzt eine paketbasierte Datenübertragung verwendet, bei der ein eigenes Taktsignal eingebettet wird. Mit vier Kanälen, die 12 Gbit / s signalisieren, sind jetzt 48 Gbit / s möglich.

 

 

 

 

 

Die Dynamik des verbesserten Sehens

Aufgrund der erhöhten Bandbreite hat sich die Videoqualität mit der HDMI 2.1-Spezifikation erheblich verbessert. HDMI 2.0 führte eine 4K-Auflösung bei 60 Bildern pro Sekunde ein, und HDMI 2.1 führte die Unterstützung von 4K bei 120 Bildern pro Sekunde, 8K bei 60 Bildern pro Sekunde sowie Auflösungen von bis zu 10K ein. Die 8K-Auflösung vervierfacht die von 4K, wo jetzt 7680 Pixel horizontal und 4320 Pixel vertikal unterstützt werden.

Eine weitere Verbesserung des Displays von HDMI 2.0 auf HDMI 2.1 ist die neue Unterstützung für Dynamics High Dynamic Range oder Dynamic HDR. Mit Dynamic HDR kann das Display seinen Kontrast und seine Helligkeit Frame für Frame ändern. Anstelle von statischem HDR, das in HDMI 2.0 verwendet wird und HDR-10 verwendet, um die Metadaten einmal anzuwenden, um die Anzeige des Fernsehgeräts anzupassen, wendet Dynamic HDR Metadaten auf das genaue Bild an, wodurch die Schatten und helleren Bilder stärker hervorgehoben werden.

 

 

HDMI 2.1-Kabel verbessert die gesamte Technologie

Im Gegensatz zum HDMI 2.0-Kabel verfügt HDMI 2.1 über zusätzliche Funktionen, die die Bild- und Videoleistung speziell für Gamer verbessern. HDMI 2.1 enthält VRR (Variable Refresh Rate), wodurch die Bildverzögerung verringert wird und ein 3D-Grafikprozessor das Bild zum Zeitpunkt der Wiedergabe anzeigen kann, um ein flüssigeres Bilderlebnis zu erzielen. Die neuen Funktionen für den schnellen Frame-Transport und den automatischen Modus mit niedriger Latenz reduzieren die Latenz und sorgen für ein nahtloses Video, das für schnelle Spiele geeignet ist.

In Bezug auf die Audioübertragungen innerhalb von HDMI wurde die Funktion Audio Return Channel (ARC) in älteren HDMI-Spezifikationen, einschließlich HDMI 2.0, implementiert. Traditionell sendet ARC Audiosignale stromaufwärts und stromabwärts über einen einzigen Anschluss, sodass das Kabel Audio von einem Fernseher zurück zu einem AV-Receiver oder einem anderen Lautsprechersystem senden kann. Die Audioqualität hat in früheren Spezifikationen gelitten, da die Bandbreite für die Audioübertragung minimal war. Mit dem Enhanced Audio Return Channel (eARC), der im neuesten HDMI 2.1 implementiert ist, ist dies kein Problem mehr, da die zugewiesene Bandbreite jetzt 37 Mbit / s beträgt. Mit der neueren Spezifikation können mehr Audioinhalte durch das Kabel geleitet werden, und aus diesem Grund können wir Audioausgänge mit höherer Qualität erwarten.

 

Upgrade-Herausforderungen

Bei diesen Änderungen von HDMI 2.0 zu HDMI 2.1 stellt sich die Frage, ob der Kauf aller neuen Kabel erforderlich ist. Es stellt sich heraus, dass neue Kabel erforderlich sind, um die neuen Funktionen der höheren Auflösungen oder Bildwiederholraten zu erhalten. Da diese Spezifikation jedoch relativ neu ist, haben viele Fernseher diese Technologie noch nicht in ihre Geräte implementiert, sodass die Beschaffung neuerer Kabel derzeit möglicherweise nicht unbedingt erforderlich ist.

 

 

 

 

Advanced Cable Tester v2 HDMI 2.1 für Design, Produktion & Qualitätssicherung

Das Programmieren von Quad-SPI-Speichergeräten ist ein häufiger Anwendungsfall für die Promira ™ Serial Platform

actv2

 

 

 

Der Advanced Cable Tester

Der Advanced Cable Tester v2 testet HDMI, DisplayPort, Lightning & USB Kabel auf die Einhaltung der Spezifikation. Dabei stehen dem Kabeltester folgende Tests zu Verfügung. Durchgangsprüfung, Prüfung des Gleichstromwiderstands, E-Marker-Test, Signalintegrität,  Überspannungschutz,  Ruhestromverbrauch & mehr.  Er ermöglicht eine schnelle Stichprobenprüfung von Kabeln, leicht verständliche Berichte und eine Testabdeckung von 100% für Labor- und Produktionsumgebungen zu einem Bruchteil des Preises, der Zeit und der Arbeit im Vergleich zu anderen Lösungen.